Young DGAP

Content navigation

  1. Related content

Founded in 2008 by Arend Oetker, Young DGAP is a platform for students and young professionals to explore a wide range of foreign policy issues and debate developments of global concern.

Its more than 1,000 members hail from throughout Germany. In addition to its headquarters in Berlin, Young DGAP has six regional branches: Baden-Württemberg, Frankfurt, Hamburg, Munich, North Rhine-Westphalia, and Saxony. Hosting around 120 events per year, the platform is run “by its members for its members” to create compelling opportunities to engage with experienced foreign policy practitioners from the fields of politics, academia, culture, and industry.

Through a variety of innovative event formats – including Ambassador Briefings with hosts such as China, USA, or Russia, which provide access to intimate off-the-record debriefs; or Fish Bowls, which illuminate the work of key decision-makers such as the Federal Ministry of Defence’s group on cybersecurity – our discussions aim to challenge and inspire.

The Young DGAP has a Mentoring Program, which has successfully matched over 200 Young DGAP members with professionals from DGAP’s extensive network. Since 2018, it also has a Fellowship Program. This initiative gives four Young DGAP members – who have been chosen through an application process – the opportunity to work closely with the heads of DGAP’s research programs to create events and develop ideas. Working on subjects of their own choosing over an 18-month period, the Junior Fellows conclude their fellowships by presenting their projects at an event open to all members of the DGAP.

Contacts

Young DGAP Office
Image
Venetia Malim

Venetia Malim
Young DGAP Office
Tel.: +49 (0)30 25 42 31-173
malim@dgap.org.

 

 

 

Sophie Domres
Student Assistant , Young DGAP Office 
Tel.: +49 (0)30 25 42 31-173
domres@dgap.org

Young DGAP Steering Committee

Joanna Klever
Co-Director & Events
klever@junge.dgap.org

Sabine Ries
Co-Director & Fellowship Manager
ries@junge.dgap.org

Carsten Berger
Regional Coordinator
berger@junge.dgap.org

Sena Staufer
Communications
staufer@junge.dgap.org

Johann Voss
Mentorship Program
voss@junge.dgap.org 

Young DGAP Regional Team

Regional Forum Baden-Württemberg

Weihua Wang
wang@junge.dgap.org

 

Regional Forum Frankfurt 

Christoph Kehr-von Plettenberg
kehrvonplettenberg@foren.dgap.org

 

Regional Forum Hanseatic Cities

Lennart Werksnis
werksnis@junge.dgap.org

Ariane Schulz
schulz@ junge.dgap.org

Christian Gerl
gerl@junge.dgap.org

 

Regional Forum Munich

Carsten Berger
berger@junge.dgap.org

Maximilian Keller                                       
keller@junge.dgap.org

 

Regional Forum NRW/Düsseldorf

Young DGAP/Bonn

Philip Ackermann
ackermann@junge.dgap.org

Younf DGAP/Düsseldorf:

Miriam Stall
Stall@junge.dgap.org 

Hendrik Steinbach
Steinbach@junge.dgap.org

Young DGAP/Cologne:

 Silvio Crapis
crapis@junge.dgap.org

Luc Kerren
Kerren@junge.dgap.org

 

Regional Forum Saxony 

Laura Müller
mueller@junge.dgap.org

Young DGAP Fellows

Elisabeth Winter 
winter@junge.dgap.org
Fellowship Project: An integrative approach to economic statecraft: examining strategies for cooperative and norm-based geo-economics
Mentorin: Dr. Claudia Schmucker 

Christian P. Bell
Bell@junge.dgap.org
Fellowship Project: Think Tanks als Plattform für Beratung, Analyse und Diskussion im Jahr 2030
Mentorin: Claire Luzia Leifert

Hannah Elten
Elten@junge.dgap.org
Fellowship Project: Navigating US-China relations in international organizations
Mentor: Dr. Henning Riecke

Laura Menzel
Menzel@junge.dgap.org
Fellowship Project: Post-Brexit-Europe. Europas Zusammenhalt nach Großbritanniens EU-Austritt
Mentorin: Dr. Claire Demesmay 

Constantin Eckner                      
Eckner@junge.dgap.org
Fellowship-Projekt: Migration as a shared challenge of Germany and the US
Mentorin: Victoria Rietig

Manouchehr Shamsrizi
Shamsrizi@junge.dgap.org
Fellowship Project: "Exploring risks and Opportunties of video games for foreign and security policy
Mentor: Claire Luzia Leifert

Contact person
E-Mail
malim@dgap.org
E-Mail
domres@dgap.org

Share