Young DGAP

Content navigation

  1. Related content

Founded in 2008 by Arend Oetker, Young DGAP is a platform for students and young professionals to explore a wide range of foreign policy issues and debate developments of global concern.

Its more than 1,000 members hail from throughout Germany. In addition to its headquarters in Berlin, Young DGAP has six regional branches: Baden-Württemberg, Frankfurt, Hamburg, Munich, North Rhine-Westphalia, and Saxony. Hosting around 120 events per year, the platform is run “by its members for its members” to create compelling opportunities to engage with experienced foreign policy practitioners from the fields of politics, academia, culture, and industry.

Through a variety of innovative event formats – including Ambassador Briefings with hosts such as China, USA, or Russia, which provide access to intimate off-the-record debriefs; or Fish Bowls, which illuminate the work of key decision-makers such as the Federal Ministry of Defence’s group on cybersecurity – our discussions aim to challenge and inspire.

The Young DGAP has a Mentoring Program, which has successfully matched over 200 Young DGAP members with professionals from DGAP’s extensive network. Since 2018, it also has a Fellowship Program. This initiative gives four Young DGAP members – who have been chosen through an application process – the opportunity to work closely with the heads of DGAP’s research programs to create events and develop ideas. Working on subjects of their own choosing over an 18-month period, the Junior Fellows conclude their fellowships by presenting their projects at an event open to all members of the DGAP.

Contacts

Young DGAP Office

Venetia Malim
Young DGAP Office

Tel.: +49 (0)30 25 42 31-173
Fax: +49 (0)30 25 42 31-16

malim@dgap.org.

Young DGAP Steering Committee

Karoline Gil
Regional Coordinator
gil@junge.dgap.org

Konstantin Kutscher
Communication & Events
kutscher@junge.dgap.org

Jennifer Pernau
Co-Director & Fellowship
pernau@junge.dgap.org

Johann Voss
Co-Director & Members
voss@junge.dgap.org

Young DGAP Regional Team

Karoline Gil
Regional Coordinator
gil@junge.dgap.org

Christoph Kehr-von Plettenberg
Director DGAPforum Frankfurt und Young DGAP Frankfurt
kehrvonplettenberg@foren.dgap.org

Lennart Werksnis
Young DGAP Hamburg
werksnis@junge.dgap.org

Carsten Berger
Young DGAP Munich
berger@junge.dgap.org

Cedric Bierganns
Young DGAP Bonn
bierganns@junge.dgap.org

Maria Kotzas
Young DGAP Cologne
kotzias@junge.dgap.org

Jonathan Lessing
Young DGAP Düsseldorf
lessing@junge.dgap.org

Laura Müller
Young DGAP Saxony
mueller@junge.dgap.org

Daniel Schmitt
Young DGAP Baden-Württemberg
schmitt@junge.dgap.org

Contact person
Phone no.
+49 (0)30 25 42 31-173
E-Mail
malim@dgap.org

Share