European Union

The European Union is a group of 28 countries in Europe. Outside continental Europe, the EU includes Cyprus and several overseas territories. It has more than half a billion inhabitants.

Recent publications

Olaf SCHOLZ, German Federal Minister for Finance shaking hands with Christine LAGARDE, President of the European Central Bank.
All rights reserved

Time for a Corona Fund

How a Coalition of Willing Member States Can Shore Up the EU Economy

While the ECB has already taken bold steps, the EU member states need to support its efforts by committing to underwrite together some of the fiscal costs of the COVID-19 Pandemic. The best option would be to launch a Corona Fund with the power to mobilize 1 trillion EUR—support for such a fund need not be unanimous.


Past events